Jet 1325 DIY back SPlash

minsk

H-M Supporter - Gold Member
H-M Supporter Gold Member
Hey guys thought i would do a photo dump of my back splash i am making for my jet BD1325 lathe.
From Cad to rad. :p
i used both forms of CAD to design this lathe backsplash. First the primitive cardboard aided design ..then of course computer aided design
My metal brake is only 24" wide so i had to do the backsplash in two separate pieces. I then used my pneumatic flanging tool and fitted thetwo pieces together. I am sill tweaking...i have to finish some welding then paint. Iam going to try and match the actual lathe color. I will be adding a slanted ledge to put all my quick change tooling on . I will post updated photos in this post as i go along. I hope this helps someone. I'm a complete newb, so if i can do it anyone can.

:p

IMG_0826.jpg

Attachments

• IMG_0799.jpg
    IMG_0799.jpg
    581.5 KB · Views: 40
  • IMG_0813.jpg
    IMG_0813.jpg
    437.4 KB · Views: 40
  • IMG_0821.jpg
    IMG_0821.jpg
    636.5 KB · Views: 41
  • IMG_0828.jpg
    IMG_0828.jpg
    510 KB · Views: 42
  • IMG_0826.jpg
    IMG_0826.jpg
    454.2 KB · Views: 46
Last edited:
Looks great. That’s been on my list for a while.

do you have a bd1325?

I have the same lathe. I need to build one myself. How well does your machine hold tolerance?

Looks good. What gauge steel did you use? How did you weld it - tig, stick or something else?

Very nice! Good job of getting the most out of the tooling available. Your seams are very well done.

I have the 13x40 version of that machine, but it went out the back door of the factory branded Metal Max. I'll be making a backsplash for it in the near future. I can appreciate the challenge to make the shield over the motor.