Just got my first lathe hooked up, now what?

mfaith

Registered
Registered
Just finished hooking up my first lathe. Its a g4003g. I have no experience what so ever with a lathe. Any suggestions on some simple projects to help build differant lathe skills. Great forum by the way.

With absolutely no experience, I would recommend you buy some PVC pipe to play with. Size doesn't matter. Chuck one end up and since it's hollow and a little flimsy, support the other end with either a dead or live center. Just practice making some cuts. Try different speeds and feeds.

It cuts easily and tool shape isn't critical. You can make some various threads - although you probably won't have any nuts the right size to try them out.

Have fun and get to know the lathe and it's controls.

Steve

get in the habit of
1) before switch on, EVERYTIME give the chuck a spin by hand. This will ensure you havent left the chuck key somewhere you shouldnt, and that the chuck/work can rotate without hitting something, ie the carriage.

Cheers Phil

get in the habit of
1) before switch on, EVERYTIME give the chuck a spin by hand. This will ensure you havent left the chuck key somewhere you shouldnt, and that the chuck/work can rotate without hitting something, ie the carriage.

Cheers Phil

I do this every time as well, to make sure I haven't pulled a bonehead move and left the key in the chuck, or left the back gear engaged with the pin locked in the cone pulley.

Sent from my XT1080 using Tapatalk