lathe doesnt spin with back gear engaged.

pipehack

Active User
Registered
First of all please excuse my ignorance as I'm new to this and have never owned a lathe. I have a Craftsman 101.21400 6" lathe. The only instructions I have are a 6 page pamphlet ( for the most part). When I engage the back gear the lathe locks up... Am I missing a step somewhere or am I some kind of idiot? I apologize for such a lame question, but I don't want to destroy this thing only having it a week.

No problem- and welcome to the forum! And machining!

Open the belt cover on the headstock, and look at the gear nearest the chuck (of the two inside there, it is the bigger one with the holes for indexing). This is the bull gear. There is a button on the front of that gear. If you turn the gear all around, you will see it come around.

There is a set screw sort of in the teeth of the gear, lined up with that button.
You have to loosen the set screw, and pop the button out until the bull gear can spin separately from the belt pulley, and turn that set screw back in where it was (approximately) :).
You might have to use a little flathead screwdriver or something to get behind it and pop it out if it hasn't been popped in a while. It should pop out 1/4 inch or so.

You have to do this any time you use the backgear, and reverse to disengage.

It will make much more sense when you see it moving now.

Bernie

Awesome.. Thank you. Turning that set screw back in won't lock anything up? I really have no personal money in this lathe , but have wanted one for 20 years. I used to shoot smallbore prone rifle competitively and could have made 100 projects with it. Like all other hobbies shooting competitively has tons of little gadgets. Now it's British bobber motorcycles and the desire to build something for the salt flats.

Just turn it in enough to be flush, so the gears won't chew it, and you'll be fine.

What kinds of gadgets did you have to make? And you used this Atlas for it? Cool

Bernie