[Lathe] Leather Belt Slipping - 2 inch

ljbenjam

Registered
Registered
I am new to the hobby. I have a ~1946 South Bend that was not in use for several years. I have gotten the leather “flexible” again but am having trouble with the amount that the belt had stretched. The adjustment has been used so that does not appear to be an option.

I have started poking around for either a new belt, but believe if I could put new ends in the belt I could cut between 4-6” out of the belt. Does anyone have a source?

I have considered cutting and gluing ends back together. Best advice I have seen is to use high quality contact cement. Has anyone done this in the past? Can you provide more particulars or point me to a good place to read more about how?

Larry

You might give a thought to using an automotive serpentine belt, they work well. You can cut a glue one to size to fit your lathe. Really easy to do--lots of info on the net on how to do it--but basically you grind the belt to create two overlaps (just don't grind thru the nylon threads)I use a belt sander and then glue with loctite super glue for rubber (walmart, ect) and clamp between a couple of blocks for a short time and your ready to go.

I am new to the hobby. I have a ~1946 South Bend that was not in use for several years. I have gotten the leather “flexible” again but am having trouble with the amount that the belt had stretched. The adjustment has been used so that does not appear to be an option.

I have started poking around for either a new belt, but believe if I could put new ends in the belt I could cut between 4-6” out of the belt. Does anyone have a source?

I have considered cutting and gluing ends back together. Best advice I have seen is to use high quality contact cement. Has anyone done this in the past? Can you provide more particulars or point me to a good place to read more about how?

Larry