LMS 5202 Telescoping Lead Screw Cover

ChazzC

H-M Supporter - Gold Member
H-M Supporter Gold Member
UPDATE January 26, 2021:

I went ahead and purchased the LMS 14" - 16" Lead Screw Cover Kit (and their Cross Slide Extended Travel Kit for Black DRO lathes), figuring to do both at the same time to save multiple dis-assemblies. I'm in the middle of the modifications, I will post once they are complete and I have some experience with them.

Chazz

----------------------------------------

Hi,

After playing with making a set of feed screw covers per StevoDee's YouTube video and having some issues with the telescoping tubes (a little tight, and don't like to compress/return), I discovered that Little Machine Shop has a kit. Has anyone installed these, and if so, how are they working out?

Thanks!

Last edited:
On the same note, has anyone a source for a 550mm lathe leadscrew covers?

On the same note, has anyone a source for a 550mm lathe leadscrew covers?
Once I have completed my installation I'll see how much "extra" length the 14" - 16" can handle.

Once I have completed my installation I'll see how much "extra" length the 14" - 16" can handle.
@jdm23

Fully extended, the 14" - 16" covers are about 13-1/2"; they might yield another 1" - 2", but I'm not sure how reliable they would be. On my lathe, I lost about 3" travel at the tailstock end (no change at the headstock end - saddle bumps into the motor housing just before the apron would bump the telescoping cover retainer), so I have 10-3/4" total travel.

You may want to try asking Chris Wood at Little Machine Shop (info@littlemachineshop.com).

Thank you for updating.
I have found a suitable size from an AliX seller which stocks a complete range. One has to look for "Spiral steel tape shield for screw". They do not supply the flanges, but making them will be interesting. That, plus a piece of bellows for protecting the way did not come cheap, but a are worth upgrade in my opinion.

Last edited:
Check this