Looking to buy cat 30 tool holders and collets

Silverdrgn

Registered
Registered
Hello everyone, I recently ran into a need for CAT30 tooling. If I undersrand correctly cat 30 has a 37.5 degree taper? While other cat XX tapers are different. Im new to all of this so all I know is the machine im dealing with utilizes cat 30.

Im not positive, how would I check to be certain? I can try to take measurements? Let me read some online.

Excerpt from https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Machine_taper
----------------
ANSI B5.18-1972 specifies some essential dimensions for milling machine spindles and tool shanks using taper sizes 30, 40, 45, 50, 60.[10] The specifications describe the position of the driving key and flange and the thread of the draw-in bolt that holds the shank in the spindle.

The tooling is referred to as Quick Change; National Machine Tool Builders' Association, 1927; NMTB; American Standard Machine Taper, ANSI B5.18; DIN 2080 / IS 2340; ISO R 290-2583.[11] There are slight variations in threads and flanges (JIS B 6339: MAS 403); and the European standards (e.g., ISO taper) use metric draw threads.

The NMTB tool shanks had the 7 in 24 taper, but they also had a constant diameter tail (pilot) at the end of the shank that was described in the 1927 patent. Subsequent design variations dropped the tail (making the shank shorter) and put a V-groove in the flange that aided automated tool changing. Modern designs started using power drawbars that gripped pull studs (also known as retention knobs) that were screwed into the tool shank rather than screw-in drawbars. The power drawbar would grip the pull stud rather than screwing into the tool shank.