Material For Coil Springs

savarin

Active User
H-M Supporter Gold Member
I need to make a couple of compression coil springs 6mm od, length about 12mm, wire diameter 1 to 1.5 mm.
They need to be pretty strong springs.
I've just made a test one out of tig wire to see if the winding is easy (it is) but that doesnt have sufficient compression resistance.
And, I want a material that wont rust.
Any ideas?

Find a Ace Hardware store. They carry a assortment of music wire. The wires are in 3 foot lengths, depending on the spring you want to wind, maybe long enough an may not be. The wire is already harden and what I call "spring tempered" ready to wind a spring out of. You can also buy it off or eBone if you like, too.

I am far from an expert on this subject, I am curious about the application - this sounds like a really stiff spring for it's size.
302 and 316 stainless are commonly used for springs, you should be able to find wire for sale somewhere. It won't rust, but it will be a real bear to wind.

A 6mm OD with 1mm wire means a 4mm ID, so you need to wind it on something like a 3mm mandrel. I doubt you will be able to wind 12mm + waste between centers with a 3mm mandrel on the lathe the way most folks do. You will need to rig up some kind of follow steady between the mandrel and the tool post to keep the mandrel from bending/breaking/popping out the center. Going to bet that the mandrel will still wind up and twist/break though.
For sure you will have to anneal the wire before winding. Stainless anneals around 2000 F, but both 302 and 316 work harden, so it will probably come out of the mandrel hard (they can't be heat treated).

Is there no way to change the design? You might just have to purchase a commercial spring :(