[Newbie] Need Help Selecting New Chuck for South Bend 10

It is time to learn how to dial in work on a 4 jaw chuck.
Bob, you're probably right, and I've done some work on my 4-jaw. The problem is that at this very early stage in my hobby machinist career (I've been at this less than a week), I am still struggling with the basics of lathe work like speeds and feeds, and the time it takes me to center work in a 4-jaw takes a bit of the fun out of it... at least for me.

I did make a machinist hammer that, since I don't own a mill... yet, required me to chuck the head in a 4-jaw for the handle hole. It came out better than I thought it would, but it took forever.

As a machining newbie, my expectation at this early point in my journey is for the chuck to hold the material fairly straight, and then spin it around :)

I am waiting to get some input on 5" (which I currently have") or 6". It seems like 6" is better than 5" (that's what she said lol) but there must have been some reason the previous owner went with 5".

I did look at Shars and they have what looks to be a fairly decent 6" 3-jaw for about $250 and includes the 2 1/4 x 8 backing plate my lathe requires. Of course, it's out of stock.
Shars 6" with backing plate
One reason to buy a 5" rather than a 6" is that it's cheaper. Since you have a 6" 4-jaw, if you have a larger job that requires it
you're covered. To some degree, what you buy depends on what you plan on making. It might be a good time to step back,
take a deep breath and wait on the 3-jaw until you know more about your needs and also know more about which chucks
will serve you best. Bob's suggestion of learning to dial in your 4-jaw is spot on and once you learn the procedure, it goes
quickly and easily. Instead of buying a chuck, you might buy a dial indicator and set it up on a quick change tool holder just
for that purpose.

I would avoid $100.00 chucks: there are lots of cheap, unsatisfactory Chinese tools out there and as a consequence