New lathe that I can't ID

cabinover

Registered
Registered
Hi folks, new to the site. Spent half a year in machine shop in high school then went back to welding. Foolish looking back but 20/20 you know. Anyway I've been lurking and had traded some stuff for a smaller Wade lathe years ago that I just started playing with. Along comes a deal on a big lathe and smaller horizontal milling machine that I couldn't pass up.

I've looked all over this mystery machine and nowhere does it say the maker. Any of you here have any ideas?
Don't think the 3 speed transmission is original, looks like it was a line driven piece. Came out of an International Paper shop in Corinth, NY if what I was told was true.

Thanks, Bob

IMG_0305.JPG

IMG_0306.JPG

IMG_0307.JPG

IMG_0308.JPG

Since you found it in the Northeast it's probably not too far from where it was made. I would poke around on the Vintage Machinery web site and look at the pictures from some of the lathe makers from the Worcester and Fitchburg, MA areas. It does look a bit like some of the lathes from F. E. Reed & Co. There seems to be a fair amount of corporate incest in that area so machines from several companies have similar look and feel.

http://www.vintagemachinery.org/mfgindex/detail.aspx?id=1012&tab=0

I've been looking too. I have a pretty good book showing many oldies in it. Some indications that it might be a Reed. It's old enough to be a threading by chaser only machine. Certainly is a hi speed steel era machine. Pretty cool!