PM-833TV. The start of my journey….

Kev-in

Registered
Registered
This is my first time posting on Hobby-Machinist.

I’ve wanted a CNC mill for a long time, but thought using a CNC mill was too far out of my reach due to the complexity converting a manual mill and the learning of CAD/CAM software not to mention a lack of machinist training. I looked at my needs and wants and made the decision to purchase a PM-833TV. My goal is to convert my PM-833TV to CNC over the next few months.

Here's the start of my journey….

After waiting for a couple of months, my mill arrived at my drop point. When I arrived at the warehouse dock, you could clearly see that crate was severely damaged and that the fan shroud was really dinted. I called Precision Matthews and described the damage and they advised to take pictures and when I uncreate it to take more and send them the pictures. It was loaded into my truck and I headed home. I unloaded it with a skid steer into the shop. I have to admit, it wasn’t the great start I had envisioned to my journey.
Crate1.jpg

Crate2.jpg

Crate3.jpg

I took the crate apart and removed the plastic wrap. I now noticed that all 4 lag bolts holding the mill to the pallet were bent and no longer remotely holding the mill in place. The pallet was broken and somewhere along the way, they had placed the mill onto a second pallet. The mill was leaning backwards and the rear of the column had several rub marks from the crate. It was obvious that something shifted inside the trailer during transport and landed on top of the motor. I sent a detailed email outlining the damage and my concerns for issues I can’t see. The fan shroud and fan blade would definitely need to be replaced. I then lifted the mill off of the damaged pallet and set the mill down on a level pallet.
Fan shroud.jpg

833TV side view.jpg

833TV rear view.jpg