Preferred milling axis and selecting end mill diameter

Clunker1

Registered
Registered
Beginning to use a newly acquired manual mill (Gorton 8). First project is t-nuts. As a newbie, I have a couple of questions. First, what is the preferred milling direction. Is it best to mill on y axis (perpendicular to vise jaws) or on x axis (parallel to vise jaws)? Second, how do you decide what diameter end mill to use?
Thanks

Some operations require Y direction travel, but mostly X is used. You can use any endmill you like from say, 1/4" up to 1/2" and beyond.
Larger endmills tend to get expensive quickly. When surfacing a larger area you can use a flycutter instead of mowing back and forth with an endmill. Personally I use 3/8" sizes fairly often, both 2 flute and 4 flute. I even have some 3s. 2 flute cutters clear chips better, 4s give better finish.
When cutting slots you usually don't cut to size in one operation as it tends to leave a very rough finish from chips being pulled back into the
cutting area/zone. In those cases use a cutter a bit smaller than the desired slot width and do several passes.
Aluminum can often be cut dry, but for steel you should use some type of cutting fluid.
-M
ps Gortons are good machines, I wouldn't mind having one if I had the space for it

Last edited:
For the tool size, I like to use the largest that will fit. They are more durable and less likely to deflect. For t-nuts, there is no real size constraint, so whatever you have should work fine. I only use smaller end mills when I'm in a pocket or slot and need the smaller size to fit.