R-8 collet key

Back on the spindle key...newbie here learned the hard way that the keys don't mean much . The HF mill drill would not accept R8 collets . After advice I filed down the key slightly. Apparently that is fairly common on the downscale equipment. The gripping power of the taper is laid out elsewhere in this forum and is quite impressive , a reason not to tighten the drawbar over ? 10-15 ft lbs, according to members.

To loose and your bit may start drilling..

Back in the day (boy I hate that I am old enough to say that) I had many many apprentices. The one thing I learned was the smaller the person, the tighter the draw bar. Not so much anything else in the shop, but the draw bars on Bridgeports. I had one apprentice who was 6"5" and 280 pounds and he never over-tightened anything. Had another that was 5"2", maybe 110 pounds soaking wet and had to stand on a 10" platform to reach the drawbar but somehow had the ability to tighten that sucker so much you needed to hammer the wrench to get it loose. It took a year of rapping him on the knuckles to break that habit. Come to think of it I probably would get arrested for doing that these days.
If everything is clean and dry it doesn't take much to hold the tool and they pop right back out without too much effort.

John

The big question is why the manufacturer even bothers putting the key in in the first place?

Manufacturers like to lock you down to their tooling.

Manufacturers know some of those keys are going to fail.

Manufacturers know some of those buyers will just purchase another machine, instead
of fixing it.

Manufacturers know those R-8 collets can spin in the spindle.

Charl

The big question is why the manufacturer even bothers putting the key in in the first place?

Probably because they want to sell more "Quick change" tooling adapters once users get tired of spinning the damn collet around the bore three times while trying to line up that darn keyway :roflmao: