Shars tap and drill set opinions

ARC-170

Jeff L.
H-M Lifetime Diamond Member
I need a metric tap and drill set. Saw one at Shars.com for about $40. I have a height gauge from them that is nice. I'm a hobbyist/DIY guy, so I don't need production quality, but the stuff available in the big box stores (Craftsman, Irwin, etc) is not good enough; I've broken too many bits and taps over the years and have started buying higher quality, which under the same conditions does not fail me.

I have a set of Cle-Line metric drill bits that are awesome. I thought I'd get a Cle-Line drill and tap set as well. It's about $100. I still might (cry once and all that...), but I saw the Shars and thought I'd see if anyone had any experience with it.

I have standard and metric tap/drill sets from Shars in the HSS flavor. It's good quality stuff for the price, the tools are sharp and appear well-made. They make holes and cut threads nicely. I'm happy with them for sure.

Shars appears to be having trouble importing drills. I was looking for taper shank drills and noticed that pretty much only the US-made ones were in stock.

Sent from my Pixel XL using Tapatalk

There's a big difference between HSS and HC taps . HSS are better and cost more of course . Once you decide how you're planning on using them will tell you which to buy . Then , you only need to figure out if you want straight flute , spiral flute , spiral point etc etc etc. :grin:

I can't comment on Shars as I don't own them , but would figure that a decent HSS set would suffice .