Smithy CB 1220 XL feel like im chasing my tail.

mac1911

Registered
Registered
So I picked up a 90s vintage smithy 3-1. Knew from the previous owners admissions and what I found so far it was going to take some time straightening it out.
So far almost everything has been loose, mis adjusted and out of alignment.
I cleaned up the saddle/crossslide/compound and adjusted the gibs and got a lot of back lash removed , cross slide is still wonky but I think I need a new nut and re shim the dial end.
Specs are .008-.015 and what Im seeing is more like .030”
I had it pretty close then it started to feel tight and got sloppy
So what im finding is it seems the head stock has shifted but it looks like its pinned solid and set screws hold the pin.
Anyone have some tips on where I should “re start” my check over/tune up.
Im tempted to strip down the gear head
The machine runs smooth and quiet compared to other small lathes I have been around.
Im a auto tech so the mechanical parts dont scare me. I just dont want to do things If its not needed ir might get me involved more than needed.

When I first started looking at it I found the nut and “lash” plate not even attached to each other. Lucky the screws where still there.B6EFFE06-3E26-4F21-A837-1921A0441EAD.jpeg

Backlash by itself isn't bad; all machines have some. Even if it's more than the spec says, as long as it's consistent and repeatable. If it's changing, then you have an issue. Most likely something still needs tightening
-M
If you are finding the slides have tight spots and loose spots then the factory didn't machine the sliding surfaces parallel enough. You would have to adjust for a compromise between too tight and too loose.
The only way to fix that is to re-scrape the surfaces but it's a big job and often hard to justify the effort

Last edited: