Tail Stock Alignment

COPE 19

Registered
Registered
Last night I was playing around on the lathe getting some practice in and I installed my 4 jaw independent chuck and centered in my work near perfect within .0005 and put my alignment tool in the tail stock and aligned the tail stock within.001. then cut a shaft and it measured right on time. I then took off the 4 jaw and put the 3 jaw scroll chuck back on and cut a shaft and it was cut on a .006 taper. I know that I am new to this but shouldn't a center be the same from chuck to chuck? Some of you guys with lots of knowledge and experience please tell me what I am doing wrong. Do you have to re-align the tailstock with every chuck change? It is an old Enco lathe and from what little experience it all works great. Prolly my not knowing how to do things is the problem. thanks

"shouldn't a center be the same from chuck to chuck?" No

That would be nice if it was.

"Do you have to re-align the tailstock with every chuck change?" No

Nothing is perfect. Your chucks, any chuck, will not have the axis in absolutely perfect alignment with the long axis of the bed. A 4-jaw you can dial in so that the radial run out is good in one plane (say an inch out from the chuck), but further down it will be out a little bit - because it is off axis. A 3-jaw scroll style chuck will have some radial run out and be off axially.

That is called life. Dealing with this type of issue is called machining. You can (and should) fuss with it, and you can improve your results. You can pay more money and get better results.

You will get lots of good ideas, in feedback on this thread, or reading old threads (this topic comes up quite often). Welcome to Hobby Machinist.

Regards, David

3jaw chucks almost never clamp work well centered.
Even if the work does clamp up centered where you measured it, most chucks will not clamp the work parallel to the ways.