VFD and G4003G in 2023

Damn Yankee

H-M Supporter - Diamond Member
H-M Lifetime Diamond Member
Hi All,

I looked but found no 'recent' posts relevant to my question and certainly nothing definitive.

Has anyone in the last year or so converted a G4003/G4003G to 3 HP using a VFD? I found some posts that skimmed this subject which left more questions than answers. For instance:
  1. What is the general consensus as to the 2 HP motor in terms of power? Too little, just right, too much (see next question).
  2. I've read many say that the lathe is a 1.5 HP max machine and are surprised it has a 2 HP motor. I look at the gearbox and though I am not a Mechanical Engineer, the gears and casting do not look all that beefy but I haven't seen any gripes about broken gear train or casting and the lathes have been around for some time.
  3. Going the other way (assuming the gearhead is up to it, there must be conversion (efficiency) loss with the VFD and I wonder if 3 HP may be appropriate? Current (thus torque) can always be controlled through the VFD (I presume it has current limits in the run mode) - so derating to 2 1/2 HP?
  4. If going the 3 HP route, I don't mind changing the mount but really do not want to remove or cut sheet metal.
  5. Previous posts reference motors/VFDs that are now obsolete. Any sources or substitutes?
So, has anyone gone 3 HP on these lathes and can share? Do others have thoughts or comments?

Thanks,
John