What type is drill Chuck arbor is best?

Thanks for the input. Now a follow up question. Is there any real difference in stick out between a stub shank and collet or a dedicated R8 drill chuck? Having never done it is seems like there would be no real difference. Of course we don’t know what we don’t know.

As for the discussion about S&D drills, this is interesting. I am very new to these type of drills as well so those are good nuggets of knowledge for me. I like the idea of having slippage at the drill chuck. Again, a novice prospective, to be generous.

If you’re using the same chuck there’s probably nominal difference between using a stub shank with collet and an R8 adapter. Using the collet system would be quicker if you had multiple chucks or other devices with the same shank because you don’t have to pull it all the way out, just loosen.

I was taught that you don’t ever want drills to slip in a chuck, messes up the drill and chuck. If you “want” anything to slip it would be a belt. Paying attention to speeds and feeds, keeping your bits sharp, and stepping up sizes in difficult materials is better than having anything slip.

John

Thanks for the input. Now a follow up question. Is there any real difference in stick out between a stub shank and collet or a dedicated R8 drill chuck? Having never done it is seems like there would be no real difference. Of course we don’t know what we don’t know.

As for the discussion about S&D drills, this is interesting. I am very new to these type of drills as well so those are good nuggets of knowledge for me. I like the idea of having slippage at the drill chuck. Again, a novice prospective, to be generous.
No real difference in stick-out, just less clearance required to get the collet and chuck into the spindle. Cranking the knee is good exercise but I still try to avoid very much of it.