Why are gear tooth gauges so ridiculously expensive?

Industry can’t get away with paper cutouts and 3d printed plastic. I’m an airline pilot, and years ago there was a DC9 whose windshield blew out because the maintenance team used screws that were literally a couple thousandths too small. But it resulted in the Captain being sucked out of the plane (fortunately he lived to tell the tale). I get that as hobbyists we are not in industry, and close tolerance isn’t that big a deal, but I like the idea of ”doing it as the pros”, and as such I have been patient and purchased Starrett from ebay. So while I agree with everyones position above, and I support doing things in a “cost effective” manner, I also maintain the ideal of doing the best that I can. When I look at the work I do, and can see that it is to tolerances greater than spec, I am proud, and the extra $60 doesn’t matter...... how much does proud cost? That is for each of us to answer; I’m also proud when I manage to save $60 by clipping coupons, lol. Cheers lads, no disrespect, just my 2 cents.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk