Hardinge HLV (s/n 0052) Restoration

elias erwan

Registered
Registered
Hello everyone,

I recently acquired a Hardinge HLV lathe (one of the very first factory models with S / N 0052 - probably 1949 from my sources). The previous owner had already done a lot of restoration on it but I still have work to do to restore it completely.

I have never worked on a metal lathe so I am a complete beginner in the field. I will already give you the little things done on this beautiful object.

r.jpeg

For now, here is what I have been able to do since January 1st:
- electrical rewiring of the main box
- remake an old backelite screw (3D printing) to keep the motor coals in advance
- repaint the feed motor
- connect the main safety switch
- remake the box and longitudinal advance lever of the carriage
- remake the eccentric screw which holds the upper carriage
- change the starter and the feed motor variator switches
- paint the lamp

Here some photos of the work done :
Capture d’écran 2020-12-28 à 14.49.33.png

WhatsApp Image 2020-12-z22 at 17.14.11.jpeg
20210106_143138.jpg

Redraw of the plate (I print it on glossy paper, glue and cover it with epoxy) :
Panneau commande HARDINGE.jpg plaque moteur hardinge.png
Before and after (new wiring, new variac, I add fuses, new "old" switches):

boitier electrique terminé.png
WhatsApp Image 2020-12-22 at 17.14.11.jpegboitier hardinge terminé.jpg
Here is the missing "clutch box" on the left
WhatsApp Image er2020-12-22 at 17.14.11.jpeg

I paint it :

So I draw it on Fusion 360 :
Capture d’écran 2021-01-27 à 09.17.38.png Capture d’écran 2021-01-27 à 09.28.30.png

An ask somebody (in France) to make me a new one. during this time, i realize my first real shoot :the axis of the clutch (from scratch).

poignée en cours 2.jpgpoignée en cours.jpg
oingnée terminée 3.jpg poingnée terminée 1.jpg

I drew the missing Hardinge Plate :
HARDINGE Brothers.pngcanvas.png

Attachments

• 20210108_194303.jpg
    20210108_194303.jpg
    637.4 KB · Views: 12