How do I find center of a hole I want to bore, on an LMS 3960 mill?

cazclocker

Purveyor of cheese.
Registered
I guess the answer would be about the same no matter what kind of vertical mil I'm using. But mine is a Little Machine Shop 3960 mini-mill.

If I want to drill, ream or bore out a given hole in cast iron to a larger diameter, is there an approved method of positioning the iron piece with the existing hole dead-center under the mill's spindle? I'm very new at this, so please be patient!

What happened was, I took such a piece (it's about the size of your fist, with a 5/16" hole through it, about 2-1/2" long) and clamped it securely on the mill bed. I eyeballed my center, and went for it. I had two pieces to do - the first one came out perfect - the second one was so off-center it was unusable. I used a HSS drill bit, not a mill. Should I have used a mill? So I'm asking so I can learn, and never do that again.

Thanks,
...Doug

I would use an edge finder in the spindle.

Ray

An edge finder is one good way to do this. Find the edge in the x and y axis. and move to the hole center from there. Sometimes if I don't need to be extremely accurate, I just use a drill bit in the chuck that just fits the hole and keep probing as you move the x and y (with the spindle off) until the bit doesn't hit the edge. Put your finger in the drill bit and you can feel it bump the edge when it's not centered. Rotate the bit 90* and probe again on the other axis.

Another way is to again chuck a pin that is the hole size in the chuck, insert it into the part, now it is aligned with the chuck. Clamp the part down in that position.

Or just use a co-axial indicator.:))

I guess the answer would be about the same no matter what kind of vertical mil I'm using. But mine is a Little Machine Shop 3960 mini-mill.