South Korean Tanker with Acrylic Acid capsizes

Last edited:
I am not an advocate of polluting the earth in any way, okay?
But I am a student of WWII, especially the naval aspects, and can tell you that about 2 million tons of Japanese oil tankers were sunk from 1939 to 1945..
That number does not include the losses of fighting ships Japan lost.
And it does not include the shipping losses of the rest of the Axis Powers nor the losses of the Allied Powers.
An estimate of total, world wide shipping losses from 1939-1945 is about 70 million Tons. SEVENTY MILLION!
Virtually all of the sea going ships of that era ran on Bunker Fuel - a heavy, almost tar like substance that had to be heated before it could be injected into the boilers and engines.
All that oil and other nasty, toxic petro chemicals dumped into the oceans.
Think about that.
Are there residual effects of all that dumping today?
Perhaps. Probably?
But has there been a life ending, earth destroying event from it?
No there has not.
Our oceans have healed from it.
They still team with fish and other wildlife. Our beaches are still pleasant, swimable places.
I say let us do our utmost to keep our environment clean.
But at the same time let us use reason and not emotion when we evaluate the environmental damage done by a tiny - 980 ton - tanker that has overturned - and no spillage from it has been confirmed yet.

Disasters don't hurt the earth. The earth is a rock in space. Disasters hurt people. Maybe you're not eating Chernobyl fallout in your potatoes or breathing Bhopal gas, but that stuff adds up. If not for you, it will for your kids.