Stuck 5V Collet

ps15toolroom

Registered
Registered
Greetings. I recently acquired a VN12 and I've never used these machines before. The machine was setup with a horizontal arbor and from what I can tell about the machine's work history, that machine could have been setup that way for years.
Anyway, I couldn't remove the 5v shank arbor when I disassembled it. I tried going through the gears to find a "low" gear where I couldn't turn the spindle by hand but couldn't find one. I have the cutter head removed with the arbor still in the spindle. I've tried putting an adjustable on the flats on the arbor and a wrench on the hex section of the draw tube but I'm afraid to use to much force.
I assume you turn the draw tube counter clock-wise? Do I need to tap on the top of the hex portion to get it out? What should I do?

Thanks

You might take a look at http://vintagemachinery.org/pubs/detail.aspx?id=3376 and find the type of arbor and drawtube you've got, just to be sure. Have you been able to turn the drawtube at all?

You might consider getting some kroil / liquid wrench type product down into the area, to help, if you can.

The thread spec for VN C / Hardinge 5V collets and thus your drawtube should be 0.775" x 18 RH.

You might post some pictures of what you've got...

Plus on what pjb said about kroil oil . Have you backed off the draw rod a couple of times and given the head of the draw rod a couple of sharpe raps with a hammer. Sometimes that's enough to make the taper for release. We all like pictures of equipment. The taper is a self holding taper and with out backing out the draw rod and giving it a tap it won't release.

It should come free if you loosen the drawbar/drawtube and give a whack with a chunk of 2X4
after using some penetrating oil for a few days
A bit of heat from a heatlamp or floor heater for a few hours might help too
-Mark