Time to fix up the truck.

Flyinfool

H-M Supporter - Diamond Member
H-M Lifetime Diamond Member
I figured that this is still fair game since it does involve metalworking.

I have a 2011 Chevy Silverado that was built in early Sept of 2010, so it is now 13 years old but only has 150K on the clock so it is pretty young mechanically.

The rear wheel wells are rusted out bad, the rest of the truck is pretty decent, so I decided to try my hand at some body work. I have never done body work before so this is all new to me and I am sure there are better ways of doing everything that I am doing. I also have nearly zero artistic ability so that does not help much either.

Last fall I did the passenger side. Unfortunately I did not get to take a lot of pics of the process. But I will post what I have.

I am now starting the drivers side and hope to remember to take more pics along the way.

For me this is a slow process. I do not have a garage to work in so everything is weather dependant, and at the end of every days work all tools bust be put away or they will grow legs by morning. and then everything has to come back out and get set up to start working again. Then just to make it more difficult on myself at the end of each nights work the truck must be derivable so that I can go to work in the morning.

So here is what I have from last year

This is what it looked like when I started.

Step one was to cut away the cancer. This included the top of the inner wheel well. The lower parts of the wheel well were salvageable.

20220917_115643.jpg

20220917_115728.jpg

20220917_115753.jpg

You can see that there was a lot of surface rust to clean up on the parts I was keeping. The process was to sand and wire brush away most of it and then use a rust conversion coating on what was left.and prime and paint everything using rust preventing paints.

Attachments

• 20220917_115709.jpg
    20220917_115709.jpg
    525.9 KB · Views: 9
Now come the fun parts.