1 in 14 twist 458

epanzella

Active User
Registered
I can get my hands on a 1 in 14 twist .458 barrel made of 4140 steel on the cheap. I know 45-70's typically have a 1 in 20 or 22 inch twist. I'm looking to launch 300 to 400 grain bullets at 1800 to 2000 fps. Does anyone have an opinion on the suitability of the 1 in 14 twist for this purpose? This is for a sabotless smokeless muzzle loader build.
Ed P

Shilen sells 1-14 .458 for all bullets and 1-20 for Blackpowder. You might run into pressure problems at near max loads. You can also burst the bullet if it is over revved, but that is a function of both twist and velocity. Had some 5.56 stuff make the grey dust cloud down range when using a HBAR with the wrong bullet construction. Kept missing the paper!
Pierre

1 in 14 twist sounds a bit too fast for a muzzleloader, even when shooting conicals. I am no expert on the subject, as I shoot patched round balls instead of conicals, but I was always under the impression that 1 in 20 or 1 in 24 was more appropriate for conical bullets in muzzleloaders. On the other hand, I am figuring for .50 caliber and you are shooting .45, so maybe the tighter twist would be fine.

That is a very rapid twist for a bullet that large. I'd advise you to stick with established twist rates. They are there for reasons figured out long ago.