1948 Logan 211

rheemed

Registered
Registered
Hi guys. I'm brand new to this. Grew up around my grandfather making aircraft parts on an old SB clone and never got the bug till now. I just picked up a $400 new to me 211 that appears to have had a little work done to her. Logan confirmed they never made a brake. Lever was added to the pin that attaches the motor/counter shaft assembly. There's a cam, set screwed to that shaft that moves a block with a shoe on the end with a few rubber pads in it. Its spring loaded. Neat addition. I wish I new where it came from. It could use some replacement rubber pads.

I've got a world of tooling and measurement tools to absorb. I just ordered an axa tool post kit, the gears needed to turn metric threads and a threading dial. Noticed today it's missing. Thankfully found one on Ebay with the bolt.

I'd love to hear is your opinion, info and really anything related to the modifications to this lathe. I've got so much to learn!

IMG-5729.jpgIMG-5728.jpgIMG-5727.jpgIMG-5726.jpg

Last edited:
Welcome to the forum rheemed. It's nice to see another Logan owner join the group. Interesting mod you have there.
It will be good to see how that works for you once the lathe is up and running..

It looks from the pics that you're missing the flatbelt. Don't know if you asked Logan about that, but there are a few
options. Have you determined what the condition of the spindle bearings are in?
If you look on Logan's website, they have a FAQ that, among other things, talks about metric threading.

$400 bucks is a good price, and gives you some headroom even if you need to spend some money on fixing
the machine up.

Don't hesitate to keep us up to date on your progress, and ask away when you have questions.

Welcome to the forum rheemed. It's nice to see another Logan owner join the group. Interesting mod you have there.
It will be good to see how that works for you once the lathe is up and running..