1st attempt on lathe

n9jcv

Registered
Registered
So I spent 3 hours on a metal lathe for the 1st time in my life. I have some wood lathe experience.

This is a big old lathe, sheldon that I suspect to be 50-75 years old. I first put a piece of steel about 1.25 inch round in the chuck.

1st thing i did was grind the parting/cutting tool. Then i cut the end off because it was not square. This went ok. I had the tool slightly below center though and it did not seperate. Then I had to adjust and cut some more. How do you find and place exactly center? How do you ensure it cuts 90 degrees/perpendicular, otherwise you end up with a convex or concave shape.

Then I ground my first bit. Basically a triangular point. I turned down the end of the stock taking about 4 thou at a pass. I tried speed from 300 to 500.

Below is the result. Basically very poor. I must be doing something wrong. Basically looks like fine screw threads. Not smooth. The bit was sharp. I did use a bit of oil as well but that did not change my results. Seemed to be a lot of squeaking type noise even shaking ?????

Any help is greatly appreciated.
20180218_114930.jpg

Greeting's, you should read South Bend's- How to Run a Lathe or Atlas's- Manual of Lathe Operation. They both give the same invaluable information.

Speed is way too slow and the reason the result looks like a screw thread is because of your tool grind . You would need a radius on the tip if you prefer to use this grind . Better yet though , grind your tool to turn and face . I'm sure there are pics of the correct grind on HM . Have fun and experiment different grinds . As far as the cl of the lathe , easiest way is to eyeball it up with a center in your tailstock and make final adjustments after cutting . Your crossslide assures a perpendicular surface if you have the needed side clearance on your cutoff tool . Hope this helps !

Really cool!!
Thank you for posting your first swarf with us.
Looks far better than my first!!