[4]

2 speed 3 phase motor vfd

[3]
[10] Like what you see?
Click here to donate to this forum and upgrade your account!

ThunderDog

Active Member
Registered
Joined
Dec 12, 2014
Messages
245
Likes
361
#1
Hi all,
I've wired a 3 phase to vfd before, it was dead simple. But, this two speed motor has me head scratching for just a moment.
I want to keep this simple with the vfd wired to the high speed only.
I guess my main question is, do I wirenut T1,T2,T3 together or do they just get capped off individually?
My understanding of wye vs delta is near clueless, so please bear with me. I've tried reading up on it, but it just hasn't made sense, yet.
For what it's worth, I have measured resistance and found the following:
T1T2= 11 ohms
T1T2= 11 ohms
T2T3 = 11 ohms
The same results for T11T12, T11T13, T12T13.
I hope all this makes sense.
Here are the two plates on the motor:
20180704_111215.jpg 20180704_111231.jpg
 

JimDawson

Global Moderator
Staff member
H-M Platinum Supporter ($50)
Joined
Feb 8, 2014
Messages
7,053
Likes
5,254
#2
Just connect the VFD to T1, T2, T3. Ignore or cap off 1, 2, 3 as needed. That's the way I read the plates.
 

Superburban

H-M Supporter - Gold Member
H-M Supporter - Gold Member ($25)
Joined
Jan 2, 2016
Messages
490
Likes
375
#3
I think you meant T11, T12, and T13, for the VFD wires, and cap off T1, T2, and T3.
 

markba633csi

H-M Supporter - Gold Member
H-M Supporter - Gold Member ($25)
Joined
Apr 30, 2015
Messages
2,815
Likes
1,461
#4
I read somewhere (here?) that the low speed connection is better for torque I think- heck try 'em both
m
 

JimDawson

Global Moderator
Staff member
H-M Platinum Supporter ($50)
Joined
Feb 8, 2014
Messages
7,053
Likes
5,254
#5

ThunderDog

Active Member
Registered
Joined
Dec 12, 2014
Messages
245
Likes
361
#6
Thanks to all.

I hooked it up to the high speed side for now. Thought I had the right plug for my 220V outlet in my electrical supplies box, oh well I'll finish it tomorrow.
 
[6]
[5] [7]
Top