30hp Rpc Vs 20hp Rpc?

Uglydog

Active User
H-M Supporter Gold Member
I've been offered a used commercially built 30hp RPC from I guy I know just down the street at what seems like a very good price.
I'm wondering if there is any advantage over the used 20hp RPC I've been running for several years.
Currently my incoming power is limited to 60amp.
Based on the charts a 20hp RPC should power the 3rd leg of the largest motor I'm currently running, a 10hp Ram Turret Lathe.
Looks like if I someday move to a CNC I might want more.
Any opinions on a 30hp? Is it a safer bet for a CNC?
Will a 30hp RPC without a load draw much more electricity than the 20hp RPC?
Will 60amp power the 10hp Ram Turret Lathe and a 30hp RPC? (perhaps the same question as above)
Is there a downside to over-sizing an RPC?
I'm not sure that I need her. But, the price I've been offered seems hot!
Opinions?
If I make the jump, then I post the 20hp RPC in HM classifieds, and pass along my savings, if there is anyone interested?

Daryl
MN

my opinion is don't fix something that is not broken-
if you are working just fine with a 20 hp unit, you will gain absolutely nothing by powering a 30 hp unit until you have surpassed the ability of the 20 hp unit.
the 30 hp idling will pull somewhere around an extra 10 amps more than a 20 hp unit.
save your money until you need more juice unless the deal is a unicorn

Thanks for the straight forward response!

Anybody in the MN area who needs a 30hp RPC?

Daryl
MN

Couple thoughts. And it seems that you know what you are doing so I am just gonna share for anyone else.