'38 Pools Special Metal Lathe

28A

Registered
Registered
Hey fellas, newbie here but boilermaker by trade so not new to metal working as a whole.. Have just picked up a '38 Pools Special lathe for doing all the small jobs i need in relation to building my Model A. I got this off ebay quite cheap, drove out and picked it up and once i had it home i gurny'd the stand and then cleaned the whole lathe with paper towels wiping any old oil and gunk off it. Its now very clean and it works great.

Only issues i've found is that as you wind the carriage? I think its called (Still learning the names of bits) up and down the lead screw it has a bit of a tough spot once every rotation of the handle so will look at that.. have wire brushed the lead screw and the gears but there might be something i'm not seeing in there..

Other than that, the saddle i think.. the part under the tool holder that winds left and right had a bit of backlash so i've pulled it apart and will drop it down to the local machine shop and they should be able to make a new screw and i'd imagine they would drill / ream / bush / retap the saddle so it doesn't have any slop and wear in it.

Aside from that.. this seems like a great little machine and an old friend of my old mans who has been a machinist for forever had a look and said it was a great little lathe. Also came with a 4 jaw chuck, a spare 3 jaw that is a big smaller than what it has on it and a single tool holder.

Heres the only pic i have of it at the moment. I had not yet put the tail stock on in this photo but it is on now and works beautifully. The auto feed gears and bracket I have them but will need to make up a spacer or two i think for it.. so will wait until i get the saddle back to be able to get that all sorted and working. I have a few photos from the lathes.co.uk website that gives me an indication of how the gears go on the side.

1528738_10153736721100475_1512064383_n.jpg