3D Printed Dial Indicator Holder for Lathe

Jake P

H-M Supporter - Gold Member
H-M Supporter Gold Member
Hey all, I just wanted to share something that I came up with in Fusion to print on my new printer.

I purchased an Edge Technology Tool Post Indicator when I first got my lathe and found that I regularly wanted to be able to turn it around for indicating on the face of a workpiece. Of course some time later they came out with a new version that does just that which they call the Tool Post Indicator Deluxe. I did not want to pay another $100 to upgrade from the version that I had already bought for $50, so I set out to make my own with my new 3D printer. For those who might be wondering I got the Bambu Lab X1C with AMS.

I'll add some photos of the holder as well as direct anyone interested in the Fusion file to where that can be found. Please understand that I am new to Fusion (and 3D printing) so there may be a number of things you find can be done better in terms of my Fusion file as well as the suitability of the design for 3D printing.

I have not yet made a proper thumb screw for the tensioning of the rotation clamp, but it takes so little effort to tighten the socket head screw to stop the indicator from rotating in the clamp that it can be done with fingers only. I just printed this in PLA as it's not a high stress or temp application.

I hope that someone may find this useful!

EDIT: I should add that the three large holes are sized to be tapped 1/4-20. That's the size of the socket cap screws used by Edge for attaching the steel bar for the tool holder to clamp onto. I used the same for the clamp screw to keep things simple. Why tapped you may ask? Just to try tapping plastic for myself (worked great). Of course you can model threads in F360 if you desire or use inserts. Though an insert might be tricky down in the recess for the clamp without melting the counter sink area.