4 Jaw Chuck input for PM1228, PM's High Precision 8" vs.

maticulus

Registered
Registered
I'm waiting on a PM1228 lathe to arrive and am selecting tools for it, one of which is a 4 jaw chuck. I like the high precision offer from PM, but discovered the Gator chuck in the link that follows. I'm a hobbyist at this point with a lot of ideas and bend toward precise tooling, understanding the dependency on skill with the 4 jaw, and having purchased the PM728 mill first.

I felt the Gator would be the better choice given its apparent versatility; two piece jaws, and t-slots.

I contacted Ajax industries and received a link to the specs and discovered two cons in the process; the actual chuck does not have t-slots as pictured and it weighs ~43 lbs, vs the PM offering at ~33 lbs and has an 1800 rpm max vs. the PM chuck's 3000 rpm max suggesting superior balance.

Now I believe the PM chuck is probably the better choice, although it does not list a TIR. My creative ideas fall within the small to occasional medium size range. Is my thinking right, or is there other subject matter missed, that needs to be considered. A 6" chuck equivalent would likely be as good, but the 8" range appears to be more favorable in my searches.

Thanks in advance.

I think you would find that it is quicker to turn one piece jaws around than unbolt and reverse the two piece jaws, also those two piece jaws are heavily serrated, not something I'd like for delicate precision work. Personally, a 3 jaw chuck is seldom off the lathe, the 4 jaw ued only as necessary.

Now I believe the PM chuck is probably the better choice, although it does not list a TIR.
This is a 4 jaw and TIR is irrelevant . I would go with either 8" over a 6" though , and either one or any 4 jaw for that matter isn't really balanced . They are made to hold irregular shaped parts that are not balanced . The Gator is a great chuck . 1800 rpm max would not be an issue on a 12 " lathe , I wouldn't run ANY 8" 3000 rpm on a 12" lathe .