400 spindle thread adapter stuck

OldFatMan

Registered
Registered
The 400 my dad picked up for me has a 2 1/4" thread adapter for the 4 jaw chuck that is stuck on the spindle. Ive tried a couple of strap wrenches but so far I haven't been able to remove it. I'm reluctant to heat it but suppose I might put some compressed air through the spindle to protect the bearings but if I do get it hot enough to move I wont be able to use my strap wrench. The lathe came with a 3 jaw chuck and a face plate with 1 1/2"-8 thread but of course I cant use them with the adapter in place. I have a blank 1 1/2-8 threaded back plate ordered to remount the 4 jaw with the intention of turning the adapter off. Expecting (hoping) I will hit the bottom of the adapter before hitting the major diameter of the spindle thread and then be able to peel off the threads. I've no experience cutting threads yet but I do have the tools and change gears if it becomes necessary. Anything else I should be considering?

Attachments

• 400 spindle.JPG
    400 spindle.JPG
    76.2 KB · Views: 24
Are the strap wrenches slipping, or are you reaching an uncomfortable amount of torque?

If the issue is strap wrench traction, you could cut a groove across the end of the face and try to remove it with a screwdriver or piece of bar across the slot.

If the wrench isn't slipping and it feels like you might break something, I wouldn't have any heartburn turning it off. One thing to verify is whether the register is larger than the thread diameter. On my lathe it is not, but if so you could hit the register before you reach the thread. Others wiser than me can provide better guidance here.