5-c Collet Chuck Vs. Lever Style

BGHansen

H-M Supporter - Diamond Member
H-M Lifetime Diamond Member
I'm looking at adding collets to my Grizzly G0709 lathe. Any pitfalls to avoid with a collet chuck vs. a lever style closer? I have a 5-C chuck on a Clausing and a handwheel style 4-C draw bar on a Rockwell. I have no experience with the lever style.

I'm thinking that the lever style would be more accurate than the chuck since it's locating directly off the spindle. The 5-C chuck is pretty easy to take on/off, looks like there's a little work to the lever style.

Another few questions on the lever style. I'm assuming when using a chuck the attachment is removed or at least the draw bar and spindle adapter? Do the collets screw into the draw tube at the spindle adapter? I've seen a collet wrench advertised that has 3 blades for removing the collets. My assumption is the blades go into the slots on the collet, then turn the collet in/out? Obviously a different wrench for square collets.

Thanks for the advice,

Bruce

We have a collet chuck, 2 actually, that mount to the spindle by 3 cam lock pins and both run out more than I like. Stick the collet in, rotate the round outside ring to tighten the collet. I've fiddled with them both and marginally improved run out but they both still run out, just don't have enough time (attention span :p) to keep fiddling with them but they are on my list, so much stuff here that has been neglected. I have worked with threaded draw bars and the lever style. I believe you need a fixture on the end of the lathe that handle/snap attachment apparatus mounts to. I prefer collets that run in the id of the spindle, haven't had any issues with that style. My way of thinking is, the more involved/moving parts the greater chance of error.