A little gab about drawbar collet closers

jwmay

H-M Supporter - Gold Member
H-M Supporter Gold Member
If you have a drawbar collet closer, do you leave it set up all the time? I have no experience with them. At one shop I worked at, the machinist only ever had it installed when he needed to use collets. At my current employer, I’ve noticed they’ve left the drawtube loaded all the time. To be clear, the machine has a 3 jaw on it 99% of the time.
Are there pros and cons to this? Or is it machine dependent?

I very much dislike collet chucks. But have stayed away from drawtube setups, because I also very much dislike finagling with attachments that aren’t mostly already installed. Plus the thing looks complicated enough that pieces of it could grow legs if it didn’t stay in one place.

I’m talking specifically about the type of closer pictured.

The only thing I can imagine, that leaving it installed all the time does that some would dislike is shrink the spindle through hole capacity. But I’ve got a 3/4” spindle capacity, and most of my work isn’t that small to begin with.

Attachments

• IMG_2029.jpeg
    IMG_2029.jpeg
    121.2 KB · Views: 12
in a production setting, there is not much of a faster way to get stock ready to be turned than a collet closer
i have a dedicated turret lathe that has the closer mounted continuously, but i can mount a chuck if necessary (very rarely)

if you are doing smaller diameter work, you'd be fine to keep the closer installed all the time and remove the system when you need the extra spindle space

short of that, it's personal preference

Others will chime in; the only disadvantage I see is the size of stock you can turn without running into the tube. I used to leave the collet attachment on my Grizzly lathe, but was doing a job with 1 1/2" stock and ran into the draw tube.