A question on VFD's

CNC Dude

Active User
Registered
OK, more like a few questions on VFD's...

I see plenty of talk about VFD's and I know what they are (Variable Frequency Drive). I actually work on a motor drive design company and I know some of our designs are VFD's. I have never designed one myself, but maybe I should!

Anyway, the questions are these:

1. Can you use a VFD with any motor topology, or is it tied to one topology in particular? (e.g. single phase capacitor start, or capacitor run, AC induction, etc?)
2. Or is it for three phase motors?
3. Can I take any motor on any drill/lathe/mill and put a VFD on it?

OK, I realize this is pretty much the same question with a bunch of different flavors. Although my area of expertise is motor drives, I have never done much on the AC and high voltage fields, so am kind of ignorant on that area.

I work on vfd at work but I'm no expert,but they are only for 3phase motors.There are some motors that are lable on the name plate rated for vfd's,I think thats just a selling tool.VFD's for the most part will work on any 3phase motors that are rated at 60hz.At work all are 460 volts,in our little world at home in the work shop its either 110v/230v input w/230v 3phase output.Again I'm no expert so others opinion my vary---kroll

For the purposes of this discussion, VFDs are for 3 phase motors. There are some speed controllers that work on single phase motors but, is limited to certain types of motors -not employed with shop equipment.