Advice/procedure for replacing/adjusting belt on harbor Freight Mini Lathe 93212

BHKBHK

Registered
Registered
Hi All,
I tried to search for an answer but did not see anything specific.

I'm new to this so please be gentle...

I picked up a mini lathe (used) and have been playing with getting it setup and testing it out.

I noticed it was slipping occasionally and I found the belt was just loose.
I also found the teeth on the belt and pulleys wearing, maybe it's just age but I want to replace them.

I broke it down to get to the belt and tighten it up... but the adjustment system is not logical, although it seems like it is at first glance.

I started by loosening the adjustment screws and trying to move the motor down to add some tension per the instructions.
This got the tension right, but then as I tighten the screws the motor seems to twist and noses up/down causing belt misalignment.

At one point I thought i had it dead on, but then when I went to tighten the 2 strews that just push against the motor (this makes sense if you have one), everything got jacked up.

Is there a correct way to do this and stop the motor from twisting?

Or am I over thinking the belt alignment and I just need to get the tension right and the cover will keep the belt in place?

...I do have replacement belts and pulleys but want to make sure I have the procedure right before I put them on as I do not want to destroy the new parts!

thanks

Sounds like there is something wrong with the motor mount- need to do a close inspection. Could be just sloppy manufacturing, common with these types of machines, but probably can be improved by filing or bending
-Mark

Little Machine Shop has a PDF of the mini lathe owner's manual. Pages 14-15 describe how to align the belt. If that procedure doesn't work you may need to do some repair or do some modifications to get it right. I've seen descriptions of owners using washers as shims to correct motor misalignment.