Another Logan 200 rescue

shnotes

Registered
Registered
Hey All,

Shout out to Redlineman and TomKro who have been an inspiration to me. I am restoring a recently acquired Logan model 200 to working order. I have run into a few snags and I am looking for advice. I would also like to be up front in saying that I am new to both machining and forums, so please be gentle.

The story so far:

Logan Actuator site says that my 21139 serial number is a 1943 vintage. The previous owner was deceased and the man who sold it to me knew nothing of the machine's history. It appeared to be in good shape but in desperate need of cleaning and lubrication. From what I have read it may be rare, however, I was fortunate to find that all the gears and racks on the machine were intact with no missing teeth (including a full set of change gears).

Tasks that have been accomplished:

-Tailstock teardown and clean - 2 issues here, I may have lost a shim washer that has introduced some play (perhaps called backlash?) into the TS. Also, I think that my quill is mounted upside down. This is, oddly enough, the same issue that tubalcain had with his logan. Perhaps this was a popular mod for this lathe. Fortunately tubalcain has a well documented fix for this on his youtube channel. The reason I want to fix this is because I cant see the measurements on the quill at the moment. Another thought may be to mount a DRO to the quill and not bother with flipping it around.

-Carriage/apron/saddle teardown and clean - Only issue is that one of the gears on the power cross feed mechanism will cause problems if it's bolt is tightened all the way, I am assuming I just need to shim this properly.

-Motor teardown and clean - Motor was full of junk and there was some rust on the magnets. I used compressed air and emery cloth to clean this up and it runs a lot smoother than when I first got it. It was having trouble starting and now seems fine.

Ongoing/future tasks: