Anyone into trains??

Tamper84

Active User
Registered
Well I was researching some stuff for class, and I happen to learn about live steam rail roads. Been to Mill Creek Central in Coshocton Ohio twice now lol. Does any one here build them? If so, what sizes of machines would you all recommend?

Thanks,
Chris

I'm a Machinist at the Cass Scenic Railroad, and reserve Fireman and have my student Engineers (Steam) license...

Std gauge, 70 to 162 tons, but I get the feeling you might be asking about something smaller??

2j5m87p.jpg

Our little 70 tonner, 1922 #4

2j5m87p.jpg

Otis: A couple of years ago I stopped at Cass and went for a train ride. Missed being able to see the shop next, time I'll show up earlier. I had a great time and will stop again when I'm in the area. Got two questions: 1-can't remember the manufacturer of the steam engines. and 2- what was the cost of an engine when they were built (asked when I was there nobody knew) Thanks. Roger

Wow Otis!!!! That's a cool job there, do you guys need an apprentice? And I was talking about 7.5" gauge locomotives. They are about 1.6 scale. The real things are awesome as well!! The cass railroad, is that around Morgantown? I'm about an 1.5 hours from Morgantown. Oh if you wanna see the railroad I was at www.millcreekcentral.com

Thanks,
Chris

my wife's father was into the 1.6 scale trains, we have about 1000 feet of track around the house.
unfortunately it needs quite a bit of maintenance to run the engines around again.

mike

The CSRR is in Pocahontas Co. WV, a few miles from Snowshoe Ski resort and the Greenbank NRAO. It's about a 2.5 hour drive from here to Morgantown.
http://www.cassrailroad.com/

We have 6 Steam locomotives, 5 Shays built by the Lima Locomotive Works in Lima OH, and one Heisler (90 ton, 1929) built by the Heisler Locomotive Works in Erie Pa.

I'v never found out what the original price of a Shay new from the factory was, but they weren't cheap I'm sure.