Arbor stuck in quill WARCO WM 14 MILL

MariusDragomir

Registered
Registered
Dear machinists,
I am new in this forum. Actually, I am mill and lathe hobbyist. Recently I bought my first millIing machine, a WARCO 14 VS MILL. Because I am a beginner in milling and turning, I have started to buy a lot of end mills, different kind of, new and used end mills. I tried to extract 2MT B16 tapped 10mm arbor provided by the manufacturer in order to insert a new MT2 end mill. Surprise! It is stuck! I tried handbook procedure, but unsuccessfully.
This is the reason to write for help on this side.
I need help! Dear machinists, please send me your method to extract stuck arbor.
Thank you for reading my post.

Sorry, those are the procedure for arbor replacement. The arbor cannot be withdrawn from the spindle according to WARCO procedure. Do I need a specific extractor to replace it?

Hello,

remember to use your spindle lock when pounding on the draw bar.

I had my ER collet get stuck in my spindle I think I might have put it in in summer and tried to pop it out in winter. (or the other way round maybe)

If you get worried about pounding on the draw bar (I use a small mallet not a plastic hammer) you could try to make some sort of puller that grips on the recess between the jacobs taper and the morse taper.

Stu

Hello,

remember to use your spindle lock when pounding on the draw bar.

I had my ER collet get stuck in my spindle I think I might have put it in in summer and tried to pop it out in winter. (or the other way round maybe)

If you get worried about pounding on the draw bar (I use a small mallet not a plastic hammer) you could try to make some sort of puller that grips on the recess between the jacobs taper and the morse taper.

Stu
Thank you very much to feed-back me. I will try locking the spindle. Regarding this puller, do you have some pictures or examples to make me more clarified? It sounds to be interesting...