Atlas 10 vs Delta 10 - opinions?

thenrie

Active User
Registered
I am a newbie and have been lurking for some time. I have been watching for a first lathe for a number of years and recently came across a couple that I like, while at the same time having a little discretionary funding available (although I'll still have to get it past the family finance department). Over the past several years, I have passed on a couple lathes, simply because I didn't know they were as good a buy as they were. Looking back, there was a Rockford I really wish I had bought. Not sure I picked the right forum for this question, but, after doing a little research on the forums, I figured to ask here in the Atlas forum.

I have located two Atlas 10s in the area, both of which appear from pictures to be in decent cosmetic condition (clean, nice paint). One has a QC gearbox, while the other does not, both appear to be longbed models, both are on homemade stands. The one with the QC wants $900 and the other wants $750. Neither includes enough tooling, etc to be exciting (the latter includes a steady rest and the gear set). I think both are a bit overpriced (I'm sure they expect some negotiation to take place as well). I have not, as yet, gone out to look at either.

The other lathe I am looking at (see attached photo) is a 10" Delta/Rockwell. It appears to have been unused for some time, stored outdoors on a porch, and has a coat of light rust on all the bare steel parts. The owner wants $1200. The Delta is a longbed with about 36" between centers, has a flame-hardened bed, a quick change tool holder, and the normal 3 and 4 jaw chucks, face plate, steel cabinet/chip pan, but little else. I believe it is about double overpriced, for its condition, which is why I'm comparing it to the two Atlases. I haven't been to look at it yet.