Atlas MFC vs Sieg X2 (or similar)

afaris

Registered
Registered
Hello. I'm still learning how to machine and have ~18 months with a 7x14 (G0765) lathe. I've been watching Craigslist & Facebook market place for a used mill and have seen two Altas MFC mills appear in the last 6 months. They seem like neat machines and both were advertised at $2,000. While I do understand there's value in the parts that come with the mill like cutters, I'm trying to understand the asking price.

Table size on both the X2 & MFC are ~4.5" x 18"
X travel for the X2 is ~11" and the MFC is ~9"
Y travel for the X2 is ~5" and the MFC is ~3 3/8"
Z travel for the X2 is ~10" and the MFC is 6"
Motor, the X2 is 500 watts & the MFC is 1/3 HP or 250 watts.

What I'm trying to understand is how the Atlas MFC compares to a Sieg X2. I can purchase a Little Machine Shop 3990 for ~$1700 with shipping & taxes. To me $2000 for a MFC seems high for a used machine. I'm guessing there's some room to haggle, but when comparing the specs above, it seems you get more capacity with the LMS 3990.

In this machine size, is having a horizontal mill better then the vertical mil due to stiffness or some other feature? I know the Z travel on the X2 gets used by work holding/vises & cutters so useful travel is likely similar to the MFC. When comparing the MFC to the LMS 3990, which is the more capable machine?

I should add that for the projects I've done, I recognize the 7x14 lathe is small and has flex but I've been fine with its capacity. My interest in getting a mill is to machine square things square, but to be honest I'm still considering a milling attachment for the lathe.

Thanks for the feedback.

Vertical mills are more versatile. Comparing the two is a little like comparing a late model Kia with a 50’s pickup truck.

People are very proud of their vintage Atlas machines but $2000 will get a used Bridgeport or clone in many places.

If you’re space constrained look into a used RF30, I bought mine for $850.