[Metrology] Autocollimator Question

Moderatemixed

H-M Supporter - Diamond Member
H-M Lifetime Diamond Member
Hi all.... further to my last post.

Can anyone tell me if an Autocollimator can be used to produce a reference flat surface. If I wanted to scrape in a piece of cast iron, how would I use the autocollimator to assist me in making it flat if I didn’t have a surface plate to “blue up”?

If so, where would I look for the how to information?

Thanks.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Morning @Moderatemixed. I read your previous post and I am also seeing this one here and man you are definitely working with some equipment most of us will never touch in our lifetime. With that being said you may not find anyone here with that particular knowledge ad experience - although I'd love to be proved wrong.

There are other places which people geek out over metrology. When I worked in the industry, I spent a lot of time there getting up to speed. You may find information in those places as well.

In addition, other machinist forums (not to be named) have pretty active metrology subforums. You may find help there.

So here is my analysis. An autocollimator detects angular misalignment in yaw and pitch relative to the target, but not roll. You could develop an instrument to mount the autocollimator on two round feet, maybe 1" in diameter, 6" apart. These each would bridge any topography under them, somewhat like a scraping flat. The would need to be ground and lapped extremely flat.