Back to the basics

Wagon173

Registered
Registered
I've been reading on several forums about how not many new people make it to this hobby and as one of the new guys, I can completely understand why. I just spent 600 bucks on a lathe and I'm looking at several thousand in tooling just to set up the lathe after reading several posts on several forums about tooling you "Need" to start doing lathe work. Particularly model engine lathe work for me. Even though I don't know jack about machining, I've been a diesel mechanic for years so I understand that there is a difference in tools that make a job possible and tools that make a job easier. For instance, I could probably rebuild a 350 with a set of combo wrenches, screwdrivers, allan wrenches, a hammer, pry bar, a brass drift, and a couple punches and a decent set of pliers. That's not to say that I like to go that route, but that would be what I would recommend to someone who wants to rebuild/work on one who is just starting out. Then I'd say if they enjoyed it, to buy a nice socket set, maybe some stubby wrenches to go with them and after they've rebuilt a few engines that way, they'll have a better idea of what's out there and what they would like to invest in. I'd leave the $200 set of swiveling ratcheting wrenches out. Oil filter wrenches, piston ring compressors, tensioner gauges, spanner wrenches, valve compressors, impact tooling, pully pullers, crows feet, all that crazy stuff that us mechanics have and tend to forget that it's taken us years to accumulate. That said, I have a decent idea of what I actually need to start doing lathe work, but am looking for any opinions of basic tooling that is affordable. I have already ordered a milling attachment,needle files, Some carbide cutters as well as some HSS blanks. A small set of end mills. I scored a 0-6" set of starett mics on CL for a hundred bucks (Don't **** your wives off, gentlemen. Seriously, I felt bad for the guy. I suppose if I ever run into him, I'll s