Beall collet chuck

I don't but it looks like they specialize mainly in woodworking tools rather than metal working. May want to ask them what the guaranteed TIR is. But something like that is not hard to make & would be pretty accurate if machined directly on your lathe. Just buy the nut.

I was thinking that the body would be relatively simple (says the total newb!) but the cap would be a trick.
I’m going to inquire as my 10K takes a 6K collet which are unobtainable with normal person dollars.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Some people buy the cap and make the body to fit. Makes it easier to fit your particular lathe (or mill).

I was thinking that the body would be relatively simple (says the total newb!) but the cap would be a trick.
I’m going to inquire as my 10K takes a 6K collet which are unobtainable with normal person dollars.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

By the cap if you mean the collet nut, yeah just buy the nut. I'd much rather buy the nut than try to make my own. Quality of the nut is important if you want low run out.

If you plan on using ER collets for the lathe only, might want to consider making an ER-40 size. ER-40 goes up to 1" (Maritool has oversized ones though).

I own a Beall chuck and it is pretty accurate, on the order of about 0.0001" tir on my Sherline spindle. If you use good collets, it works well. It will also take a higher quality nut, like those from Rego-fix, ETM or Techniks.

Mikey got me hooked on Beall when I was just starting out. I now have 3 of them, one ER-32 3/4"-16 for my Sherline, and two 1-1/2"-8 in both ER32 and ER50 for my 10x24 lathe. They are very solid and well made, the ER50 has a bearing cap, the ER32 a regular solid cap. I don't know the TIR, I tested the Sherline's ER32, but it was several years ago. I do remember the run out was trivial compared to my ability.