Best Way To Cut Tapered Key Seat

carlquib

Registered
Registered
I need to cut a new tapered gib key keyway in a splined clutch hub. What is the best method, make a new bushing with the correct angle machined into the bushing or just use my existing plain bushing with a tapered shim to get the angle I need? I haven't ever had to cut one of these before and machinery's handbook was a little weak on the details other than giving me the proper angle. It is a 1/2" key going into a 2" bore.

Hello, my name is Brian and I'm a toolaholic

Is the bore tapered? Don't know why I asked, but the tapered seat sounds unusual at best.

No, it is s straight bore. Just the keyway has 1/8" in 12" taper. The tapered gib key is used as a locking element. I have been around them for years but haven't ever had to cut one.

I've never done one of these before, but I'm gonna vote for the tapered shim. I think it will work. The only problem with either method is pushing straight down on the broach. I would guess that you would have to tilt the hub to the correct angle.

I think that is exactly what I am going to do. While I have the grinder set up to grind the shim I'll grind a washer to the same angle to set the part on while it is in the press. I think I'll try the first passes without the shim and then put my tapered shim and washer in for the finish pass. Wish I knew what the standard procedure was for cutting these. Usually in the past I have just had to repair the shaft and then just replace the sprocket or pulley.

Hello, my name is Brian and I'm a toolaholic!

Jim Dawson is right in that the cutting pressure must be in line with the travel of the broach.
Turn a bushing and mill the broach slot at the needed angle and at a depth that will keep the broach from cutting too much material.
You may need to make two bushings to get the proper depth without overloading the broach or cut the slot deeper and use more flat broach shims to get the full keyway depth.