Blades for radial arm saw

CJ5Dave

Registered
Registered
I am new to owning a radial arm saw. I have a 70's Craftsman 10 inch, 2.75 HP, yard sale item. Great saw but seems short on power. I put a blade on it when I got it and it needs another now. I always heard these need a different pitch blade from a table saw or a compound miter saw because it cuts from the opposite direction of table and miter saws. It grabs a lot, locks up even with a new blade. Hard to feed smoothly. I tried at my local lumberyard to buy a special blade but all my sources only have the same blade as for a 10 inch table saw. Ready for another and would like a better choice.

I've had a 10" Dewalt 740 radial arm saw since the 1970's. I use the same blades in this saw as I do in my Craftsman 10" table saw. In total I have about a dozen blades with different tooth counts and pitches. They all work well in either saw. I would stay away from carbide tipped blades. They have little set to the teeth and a very wide kerf. Being a direct drive blade, the motor will tend to slow down and overheat when it gets slowed in tough material

When we were building our current house, I was cutting tons of treated lumber for the deck with the radial arm saw. I went through a couple overloads before the counterman at the store asked what I was doing. He suggested dumping the carbide tipped blades for standard HSS and even try a hollow ground planer blade to minimize the drag on the wet lumber. That helped the problem, but the treated lumber was so wet the swarf was more like mud than sawdust. To keep from destroying the saw I had to quit trying to saw the treated stuff with it. I Finally purchased a cheap Craftsman 10" belt driven table saw to cut the treated lumber. When the blade would slow down or get stuck the belt would slip and not overheat the motor. I still have both saws and they are both used on a regular basis. The Radial arm saw is about 50 years old and the table saw is 36 years old.