Book: "A Treatise on Milling and Milling Machines"

Apostle10

Active User
Registered
Hi Guys,

I have a Sheldon No. 0 Horizontal Milling Machine on it's way to me. I expect to receive it sometime next week.

While I'm pretty familiar with many machine shop operations (lathe, vert milling, welding, etc), a horizontal mill is new to me. I've had very little experience running one.

I'm looking for a copy of the 3rd Edition (1951) of "A Treatise on Milling and Milling Machines," by Cincinnati Milling Company.

If anyone has one they're willing to part with , please email me.

Always make safe chips,

Mike
mike at w4xn dot com
Charlottesville, VA

Is there some special reason that you are looking for such a specific book? There are a plethora of really well written books on the subject of horizontal milling machine that would be much easier to find and have more current info on newer materials and procedures. I do understand about obtaining a library quality book for addition to your library, but there are many many good books readily available that will address all you would ever need t know..

Bob

I'm guessing you are aware of this 1916 edition, it's a free pdf.
http://vintagemachinery.org/pubs/detail.aspx?id=3873

Daryl
MN

Hi Guys,

I have a Sheldon No. 0 Horizontal Milling Machine on it's way to me. I expect to receive it sometime next week.

While I'm pretty familiar with many machine shop operations (lathe, vert milling, welding, etc), a horizontal mill is new to me. I've had very little experience running one.

I'm looking for a copy of the 3rd Edition (1951) of "A Treatise on Milling and Milling Machines," by Cincinnati Milling Company.

If anyone has one they're willing to part with , please email me.

Always make safe chips,

Mike
mike at w4xn dot com
Charlottesville, VA

Hello Bob, Daryl and Stuart,