Brand new here - seeking some knowledge !

Morrow96

Registered
Registered
Hello all, I am a brand new member here.

I am a firearms collector and the last few days I've been pondering something that would require a machinist. I have joined this forum to seek knowledge from you guys.

As someone who knows NOTHING about this stuff, I am looking for the practicality/difficulty/effectiveness of what I am wanting to do. You will not hurt my feelings, I have no knowledge to begin with regarding this profession.

Question time....
2.jpg

This weapon that you see pictured above is from WW2, and the scope was held in place by 2 rings just like most sniper rifles you see today. They called the mounting system a "claw mount" since they notched the base so that the bottom of the rings which resembled a "claw" could fit snug. These rings and bases therefore were cut together and were not interchangeable with others of the same kind. None of that really matters for my question, but long story short...you cant buy these original parts and assembly "repro" snipers like you can with 99% of the other stuff.

Many years ago they made reproductions of these rings for collectors like myself, the only problem is they (not sure who made them) only made about 6. I am currently in contact with a lucky individual who HAS a pair of these rings. (Below is a picture)
1.jpg
My question is...if I can get ahold of the actual physical item, how easily can I have a machinist duplicate and make more? Are there commercial companies that do this type of work? Are there minimums affiliated with this stuff and therefore cost an arm and leg to get done? I just need guidance and knowledge. I live in Dallas so I'm sure there are no shortage of professionals around me, but I want to start this journey with you folks here on the forums.