Busy Bee 1237G

BigKahuna

Registered
Registered
There is one listed locally for sale and I'm a bit unsure on whether the price is fair. It's in use so in the pictures it's a bit messy. No base, but it comes with the metal table. Comes with lots of tooling.

Anybody bought one of these recently. I saw another thread where a fellow Canuck paid ~$3000 CDN (he didn't mention final price) but I don't know the condition of the lathe or whether it can with tooling.

Thoughts?

Attachments

• IMG_4380.JPG
    IMG_4380.JPG
    4.5 MB · Views: 54
  • IMG_4388.JPG
    IMG_4388.JPG
    4.4 MB · Views: 54
  • IMG_4385.JPG
    IMG_4385.JPG
    4.5 MB · Views: 34
  • IMG_4387.JPG
    IMG_4387.JPG
    4.9 MB · Views: 32
  • IMG_4384.JPG
    IMG_4384.JPG
    1.6 MB · Views: 51
I’m not an expert but $3000 seems a bit too much.
Two chucks is good, is there a collet chuck too?

What a lathe is worth depends on local market conditions, condition of the machine, and what tooling it comes with.
"In use?" There's no evidence of cutting fluids or way oil on that machine so it's hard to tell, but anyone that can't
take the time to clean up a machine for sale probably doesn't clean it to begin with. Having said that there's no
substitute for checking out the machine to determine wear and whether it operates properly. Without knowing what
machines like that go for in your market, it's hard to give you an estimate, but if he's asking 3000 CDN, I'd say that's
a bit high for a bog standard Chinese lathe with a bunch of use. How much is he asking?

Oh, by the way: welcome to the forum!

I believe there is a collet chuck. I'll have to check, but I would assume since he had the collet set.

What a lathe is worth depends on local market conditions, condition of the machine, and what tooling it comes with.
"In use?" There's no evidence of cutting fluids or way oil on that machine so it's hard to tell, but anyone that can't