Buying a metal lathe

Congrats on pulling the trigger on a sherline. Now the fun begins. We get to help you spend more $$$$ than you can imagine on stuff that you think you have to have and can't live without. The reality is that most of that stuff you will never use Instead of buying everything under the sun to start with only buy what you need to accomplish the project at hand. And buy the best quality you can afford.

If you haven't read Mikey's very, very long thread on grinding tool bits put that at the top of your list. I have read it start to finish several times. And still consult it often. Having properly ground, sharp tool bits makes a world of difference.

Even though I have been at this for several years I am still an rank newbie at machining. IMHO Mr. Pete aka Tubalcain has the best instructional videos on the internet. He is a retired high school shop teacher and knows how to teach. He is my go to source for the basics. This website ranks right up there with Mr. Pete as the best source of information on machining.

And we love to read about member's projects. Don't be shy. Let us know what you are up to.

Last edited:
Congrats on pulling the trigger on a sherline. Now the fun begins. We get to help you spend more $$$$ than you can imagine on stuff that you think you have to have and can't live without. The reality is that most of that stuff you will never use Instead of buying everything under the sun to start with only buy what you need to accomplish the project at hand. And buy the best quality you can afford.

If you haven't read Mikey's very, very long thread on grinding tool bits put that at the top of your list. I have read it start to finish several times. And still consult it often. Having properly ground, sharp tool bits makes a world of difference.